Kelvin Smith group Logo with website

COVID19 Update

23rd March 2020

In response to the COVID-19 global pandemic, Kelvin Smith Insurance Brokers can confirm having taken the following steps to ensure the protection of our team and continuity of service for our clients as far as possible:

  • Until we are able to reopen our office, it will remain closed for the time being
  • Our team are all working remotely from home and will be available during our normal office hours on their usual direct telephone numbers or email addresses.

We will all be working hard to continue to provide you with as high a level of service as we can during this time and would like to ask for your patience and understanding should there be a temporary reduction to our service levels or response times.
In the meantime, please see our contact list below:

Name/ Department Position Direct Dial Email
Stephen Travers Managing Director -Corporate Risk 07866 772988 stephen@kelvinsmith.com
Corporate Risk
Pamela Brown Cert CII Corporate Risk Broker 0141 418 5984 pamela@kelvinsmith.com
Paul Stoner Cert CII Corporate Risk Broker 0141 418 5986 paul@kelvinsmith.com
Chris McKellar Cert CII Corporate Risk Broker 0141 418 5988 chris@kelvinsmith.com
Abi Smith Cert CII Corporate Risk Broker 0141 418 5985 abi@kelvinsmith.com
Lorraine Scott Corporate Risk Broker 0141 418 5999 lorraine@kelvinsmith.com
Nicola Gow Corporate Risk Broker 0141 212 4590 nicolag@kelvinsmith.com
Commercial New Business   
Scott Gardner New Business Broker 0141 418 5975 scott@kelvinsmith.com
Craig Allan ACII Client Services Director 0141 418 5982 craig@kelvinsmith.com
Lisa Hearton New Business Broker 0141 418 5990 lisah@kelvinsmith.com
Business Care  
Chris Downie Cert CII Business Care Team Leader 0141 418 5980 chrisd@kelvinsmith.com
Julie McLelland Business Care Broker 0141 212 4584 julie@kelvinsmith.com
Gary Hamilton Business Care Broker 0141 418 5987 garyh@kelvinsmith.com
Graeme Fingland Business Care Broker 0141 418 5983 graemef@kelvinsmith.com
Lorraine McKenzie Business Care Broker 0141 212 4587 lorrainem@kelvinsmith.com
Fleet Care  
Rena Ross Cert CII Fleet Care Broker 0141 418 5981 rena@kelvinsmith.com
Jodie Rafferty Fleet Care Broker (Mon/Tue/Wed/Fri) 0141 418 5992 jodie@kelvinsmith.com
Lisa Hearton Fleet Care Broker 0141 418 5990 lisah@kelvinsmith.com
Claire Hamilton Fleet Care Broker 0141 212 4589 claire@kelvinsmith.com
Claims Care  
Harry Conaghan Cert CII Claims Director – Claims Care 0141 418 5995 harry@kelvinsmith.com
Daniel Williams Claims Handler 0141 418 5974 daniel@kelvinsmith.com
David Whitten Claims Handler 0141 212 4583 david@kelvinsmith.com
Private Client – Personal Lines  
Karen Wyatt Private Client Team Manager 0141 418 5971 karen@kelvinsmith.com
Jennifer Russell Private Client Broker (Mon/Tue/Thu/Fri) 0141 418 5972 jennifer@kelvinsmith.com
Lorraine Quinn Private Client Broker (Mon/Wed/Fri) 0141 418 5973 lorraineq@kelvinsmith.com
Linda Mulgrew Private Client Broker (Mon/Tue/Wed/Thu) 0141 418 5970 lindam@kelvinsmith.com
Alison Harttrup Private Client Broker 0141 418 5991 alison@kelvinsmith.com
Accounts  
Christine Findlay Internal Accountant & Administrator 0141 418 5998 christinef@kelvinsmith.com
Elaine Forster Admin/Accounts Assistant (Tue/Wed/Thu)   elaine@kelvinsmith.com
Kelvin Smith Financial Planning Ltd  
Stuart MacKenzie M.A. (Hons), DipFA Director 0141 212 4582 stuartm@kelvinsmith.com
Jack Meldrum Mortgage & Protection Adviser 0141 212 4592 jack@kelvinsmith.com
Helen Fergus DipPFS Operation Manager/Paraplanner 0141 212 4585 helenf@kelvinsmith.com
J Alan Whitelaw ACII, DipPFS Senior Financial Consultant   alanw@kelvinsmith.com

 COVID-19 – Insurance Cover

We have understandably received a lot of enquiries regarding the insurance position with COVID-19 in recent weeks, in particular with regards comments or advice that has been given that insurers will provide cover for COVID-19 related losses.  The Association of British Insurers has issued a statement in response to this which you can read on their website.

At the time of writing, the short answer is that there is generally no meaningful cover available for Property Damage and/or Business Interruption losses related to the impact of COVID-19.

Regarding Employers’ and Public Liability cover, policies should respond to claims brought against a policyholder from a claimant who alleges negligence for personal injury as a result of COVID-19. As a result of this, appropriate due diligence should be exercised, and as far as possible documented, with regards the welfare of both your employees and customers.

COVID-19 is a currently a global pandemic which has resulted in the systematic shut down of several countries both socially and, to a slightly lesser degree economically, at the time of writing and is not a risk which can be insured against in terms of Property Damage and/or Business Interruption losses.

Ultimately, the impact of COVID-19 in the UK can only be lessened or mitigated by measures taken by the UK Government in the coming weeks and months.

In terms of practical advice for those businesses which have been forced to temporarily close, it may be useful for you to implement the following to mitigate the risk of damage or loss as far as possible:

  • Isolate / turn off the water supply and drain down the water pipes /system to prevent any potential burst pipes if possible
  • Ensure all intruder and fire alarm systems are set in full
  • Lock and secure all windows and doors
  • Keep all stock at least 10cm from floor level to protect against water ingress (use of pallets should achieve this).
  • Ensure there is no waste or waste materials internally within buildings and that any waste materials outside are either secured in a locked skip and kept a minimum of 10 metres from any buildings, or as far away as possible from the building

All covers, of course, are subject to the terms and conditions of your insurance policy which you should check for full details.

We thank you for your patience and understanding during this unprecedented time.